View near Sizergh Castle

sizergh

Painting of a view near Sizergh Castle

I’m really pleased with the tree and foliage on this painting, but not so pleased with the sky. I used too much thinners and it washed out, hence the lines. Not the effect I was after. Also, the white area in the upper left corner looks like the sun and not the cloud it was meant to be.

However, the foliage has worked out better than I expected. I let it dry overnight, so it was easier to overpaint some of the areas and I was able to scratch in a few lines to suggest foliage (see the bottom of the tree and the hedge on the left).

I think the trunk needed more work, but the branches show through the foliage of the tree, which has worked better than I imagined.

Leave a Reply

